Isle of Man Commonwealth Games Association

National Sports Centre, Groves Road, Douglas,, IM2 1RB

‘The Commonwealth Games,’were first held in Hamilton in 1930 and called the British Empire Games. In 1958 at Cardiff, when the Isle of Man first joined, they were named ‘The British Empire and Commonwealth Games.’ The name was then changed to ‘British Commonwealth Games’ in 1970 and changed once again in 1978 to ‘Commonwealth Games’ as it stands today.
The Commonwealth Games have developed dramatically over the years starting with only 400 athletes, 11 countries and six sports at the first ever games in 1930, increasing to 7,000 athletes, 71 countries and 21 sports in the games held in 2014. There is also the Youth Games, which started in 2000 in Edinburgh, and which was hosted by the Isle of Man in 2011.

Manx medal holders include: Mark Cavendish, Peter Buckley, Peter Kennaugh and Mark Christian for Cycling, Nigel Kelly, David Moore, Trevor Boyles and David Watson for Shooting and Alex Solly for Swimming.