Tourist Trophy-TT Festival

The TT started in 1911 and involves nine races including traditional race bikes, sidecars and the new TT Zero.

Joey Dunlop (1977-2000) holds the highest record with 26 wins. Dean Harrison holds the record for fastest lap speed at 131mph in 2022. Beryl Swain was the first solo woman to ride in the TT races in 1962, before women were banned, until Hilary Musson (and her husband) rode in 1978.

This two week Motorsport Festival begins the last week in May for practice with the first week in June for racing. Held on the Snaefell Mountain Course, a closed road circuit, riders have to complete a number of the 37.73 mile laps which climb from sea level to over 1300 feet.

The Sunday between practice and race week is known as Mad Sunday when the race circuit is open to anyone to ride the roads. Speed limits apply for this event.

The climax of the races is held on the Friday of Race Week. The Senior TT for the Maruis de Mouzilly St.Mars trophy. The race record for 6 laps is 1 hour 45 minutes and 20.394 seconds for the 236.38 mile race distance.

  • 00


  • 00


  • 00


  • 00



May 27 2024


TT Grandstand
Glencrutchery Road, Douglas, IM3 4LE
QR Code