St. Sanctain’s Church, which dates from 1774, stands on the site of an ancient Keeill. Simple, whitewashed and Georgian, with an outside bell tower and domed clear windows. The original Kirk was one of over a hundred Celtic Keeills, or “treen” churches, which are scattered all over the Island. A Church was built in 1720, but this burnt down and had to be rebuilt. St. Sanctain was Bishop of Cell da les (Church of two forts) in Ireland.
Inside the Church organ, which dates from the 1880s, sits in the West Gallery. The stained glass window depicts The Last Supper and was erected in 1952. The Church houses two Celtic crosses and one Roman Cross unique on the Island.
The Church Hall is available for hire.